University of Calgary
UofC Navigation

The Champ is Here! Ben Donnelly Crowned 2016 ISU World Junior Champion

Changchun, China – Ben Donnelly of Oshawa, ON, was crowned 2016 World Junior Champion after he won two gold medals, Saturday, to close out the individual events slated at the 2016 ISU World Junior Long Track Speed Skating Championships, which are taking place until Sunday in Changchun, China.

Donnelly therefore became the second Canadian to win the World Junior Championship title in the history of that competition. In 2004, the silver medalist in team pursuit at the 2006 Olympic Games in Torino, Justin Warsylewicz, was the first Canadian to do it.

After earning silver in Friday's 1500m, Donnelly finished the individual portion of the competition in high fashion, as he won gold in the 1000m as well as in the 5000m.

"I'm really happy about the overall title, it's exciting," exclaimed Ben Donnelly.

"In the 1000m, I skated with a little angry determination from the 1500m the day before, so I really wanted to go for it. Also, I think it was my best executed 5000m race ever."

Christopher Fiola of Montreal, (Mercier-Hochelaga-Maisonneuve borough) finished out the individual portion of the competition in sixth place overall, while Tyson Langelaar of Winnipeg, MB, was 13th.

Béatrice Lamarche of Quebec City (Sainte-Foy–Sillery–Cap-Rouge borough), QC, was the top Canadian female skater with a fifth-place finish overall in women's standings. Abigail McCluskey of Penticton, B.C., was 14th, Gabrielle Sanson of Moose Jaw, SK, was 26th, and Véronique Déry of Lévis (Les Chutes-de-la-Chaudière-Est – Saint-Jean-Chrysostome borough), QC, was 27th.

In the team sprint event, the Canadian men's trio comprised of Antoine Roger of Québec City (Sainte-Foy–Sillery–Cap-Rouge borough), QC, Fiola and Langelaar took fourth place, only two hundredths of a second away from Belarus who won the bronze medal. Déry, Sanson and Lamarche, for their part, ended up in fifth place.


Final overall ranking


1. Ben Donnelly
6. Christopher Fiola
13. Tyson Langelaar


5. Béatrice Lamarche
14. Abigail McCluskey
26. Gabrielle Sanson
27. Véronique Déry

1000m M
GOLD: Ben Donnelly (1:10.85)
6. Christopher Fiola (1:11.79)
33. Antoine Roger (1:13.777)
40. Tyson Langelaar (1:14.33)

5000m M
GOLD: Ben Donnelly (6:33.84)
17. Tyson Langelaar (6:56.70)
18. Christopher Fiola (6:58.96)

1000m W
5. Béatrice Lamarche (1:19.63)
24. Abigail McCluskey (1:22.61)
33. Gabrielle Sanson (1:23.55)
39. Véronique Déry (1:28.10)

3000m W
12. Abigail McCluskey (4:23.01)
14. Béatrice Lamarche (4:24.78)
32. Gabrielle Sanson (4:50.89)
34. Véronique Déry (4:59.80)

Team Sprint M
Canada: 4 (1:25.02)
(Antoine Roger, Christopher Fiola, Tyson Langelaar)

Team Sprint W
Canada : 5 (1:33.41)
(Véronique Déry, Gabrielle Sanson, Béatrice Lamarche)

More details are available at Speed Skating Canada's web site at

Social Media