University of Calgary
UofC Navigation

2016-17 Intact Insurance Olympic Oval Bursaries

(L to R): Oval Director Yves Hamelin, Abigail McCluskey, Sam Deckert, Maggie Beynon, Jordan Henkelman, Alison Desmarais,
Jacob Graham, Graeme Fish, Maddison Pearman, Brendan Yamada, Victoria Spence, Connor Howe & Hannah Clark.
Missing: Marco Schumann & Keri Morrison
CALGARY, AB – The Calgary Olympic Oval is very proud to announce the names of the 15 athletes awarded Intact Insurance Olympic Oval Athlete Bursaries for the 2016-17 season.  Congratulations go out to Maggie Beynon (Barrie, ON), Hannah Clark (Yellowknife, NWT), Sam Deckert (Winnipeg, MB), Alison Desmarais (Vanderhoof, BC), Graeme Fish (Moose Jaw, SK), Jacob Graham (Dawson Creek, BC), Jordan Henkelman (Calgary, AB), Keil Hillis(Calgary, AB), Connor Howe (Calgary, AB), Abigail McCluskey (Penticton, BC), Keri Morrison (Burlington, ON), Maddison Pearman (Ponoka, AB), Marco Schumann (Saskatoon, SK), Tori Spence (Kamloops, BC) and Brendan Yamada (Calgary, AB).

 “On behalf of the Olympic Oval and our athletes I would like to thank Intact Insurance and all of our sponsors for helping to continue the bursary program.” said Oval Director Yves Hamelin “Their support as well as the efforts of the bursary committee, led by our own Catriona Le May Doan, helps us to aid these deserving athletes in their push for success in sport.”

Pictured: (L to R) Alice Humany - Organizing Committee Calgary, Mark Petros - Nick's Steakhouse, Abigail McCluskey - Long Track athlete; Alison Desmarais - Short Track athlete; Rosa Nelson - Intact Insurance 

This season the Oval would like to thank all of our supporters including Intact Insurance, Nick's Steakhouse, Organizing Committee Calgary, Shawn Holman, Jeremy Wotherspoon & École Airdrie.

The Intact Insurance Olympic Oval Athlete Bursary fund was created by Olympic Oval Liaison Catriona Le May Doan to help alleviate some of the financial strains put on Canadian high performance athletes.  The fund supports deserving locally trained athletes in a variety of ways – helping to pay for competition travel, training, equipment, clothes, rent and food. 

Since its inception 11 years ago, the Oval Bursary Fund has supported over 100 athletes in their quest for excellence in the sports of speed skating, cycling and female hockey.

Just a few of the notable past recipients of Oval Bursaries include current and former Canadian National team long and short track athletes, such as, Isabelle Weidemann, Ben Donnelly, Josie Spence, Stefan Waples, Courtney Shmyr, Olympic medalist Marie Eve Drolet, 3-time Olympian Brittany Schussler and World Cup medalist Heather McLean.

2016-17 Intact Insurance Olympic Oval Athlete Bursary Recipients:

Social Media